The Norwich University Writers Series

We are excited to announce the spring 2017 series! 

In fall 2016, the NU writers series welcomed National Book Award-winner Will Alexander and environmental writer Jonathan Mingle to the Norwich campus. Learn more about them. With the spring semester comes an exciting lineup of visiting authors:


Todd Davis
4 p.m. Thursday, April 6, 2017
Kreitzberg Library
Todd Multipurpose Room

Todd DavisTodd Davis is an author of five full-length collections of poetry. He edited the non-fiction collection, Fast Break to Line Break: Poets on the Art of Basketball, and was co-editor on Making Poems: Forty Poems with Commentary.

Davis’ poetry has been featured on the radio in the Writer’s Almanac. His poetry has won the Gwendolyn Brooks poetry prize, the Chautauqua editor’s prize, and have been nominated several times for the Pushcart prize. His work has appeared in the American Poetry Review, North American Review, New Madrid journal of contemporary literature, and many other journals. Todd teaches creative writing, environmental studies, and literature at Penn State Altoona.

The Los Angeles Review wrote: “The poems that comprise In the Kingdom of the Ditch hold quiet wisdom, not unlike the solemnity and silence of personal prayer.”

Davis will read some of his poems and then will open for questions.

Karen FowlerKaren Fowler
4 p.m. Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Kreitzberg Library
Todd Multipurpose Room

Karen Fowler has written six novels and three short story collections. Her book The Jane Austen Book Club was on the New York Times best-seller list for thirteen weeks straight and was listed as a New York Times notable book.

Fowler is the co-founder of the James Tiptree Award and the current president of the Clarion foundation. Fowler’s book, Sister Noon, was a finalist for the 2001 PEN/Faulkner award for fiction. Fowler’s Short story collection, Black Glass, won the World Fantasy Award in 1999.